Monday, May 11, 2020

Circuit breaker Day 35 pix: Five Power Defence Arrangements FPDA 40th anniversary in 2011

A Royal New Zealand Air Force 5 Squadron P-3K Orion flew from RNZAF Base Auckland to Singapore in November 2011 for a major FPDA exercise.

From time to time, members of the Five Power Defence Arrangements (FPDA) open their shop window to show some of the assets available from Australia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore and the United Kingdom.

The FPDA anniversary in 2011, which marked its 40th anniversary, saw assets from five air forces displayed at the Republic of Singapore Air Force's Changi Air Base (East).

Hope we'll see something similar in 2021 or sooner, as FPDA 50 approaches.

Residents in Singapore are now past a month of the "circuit breaker" period (4 May to 1 June 2020). Malaysia announced this afternoon that it is extending its Movement Control Order for another four weeks till 9 June 2020. Life in 2019 looked vastly different, to phrase it mildly. 
Royal Air Force Typhoon from 6 Squadron, RAF Lossiemouth, and a RSAF F-15SG Strike Eagle from 149 SQN, Paya Lebar Air Base.

A Royal Australian Air Force 75 SQN F/A-18A Hornet (RAAF Base Tindal) in anniversary colours and a Royal Malaysian Air Force 18 Skuadron F/A-18D Hornet (TUDM Butterworth) framed by an approaching storm.

No comments: